276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

As Lizzie is the one writing the book, we don’t get much description of her apart from the illustrations. The beginning was a little confusing with a large number of characters being introduced and then having little role going forward. The next instalment The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Portraits and Poisoning is coming soon and I cannot wait to read it. Overall, I think this book would be best suited to children over 10 years old who aren’t easily upset. Set in eighteenth-century London, with all the fun and zest of Hamilton, Bridgerton fashion and inspired by real Black British historical figures.

A thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven’s Murder Most Unladylike . They went to Garrick, who was the Director of the play: he felt the dropping of the chandelier was an accident and the show should go on.However, when Lizzie and Belle were delivering their speech at the theatre, I found it quite sad when some people started to walk out. Ond pan maen nhw’n dal llygaid ei gilydd yn y theatr un noson, mae’r ddwy wrth eu boddau o weld merch Ddu arall o’r un oed. After completing the book, I felt as if I wanted to know more because the book was left on a cliff-hanger which was, in my opinion, crucial to the story. The chapters, themselves are quite short which all make this easily readable for its intended age group. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average.

Lizzie’s father is almost killed and the girls feel it is their duty to find out who tried to kill him. But when they catch each other’s eyes at the theatre one night, each is delighted to see another Black girl her own age.Join our community to get personalised book suggestions, extracts straight to your inbox, 10% off RRPs, and to change children’s lives. This book is written in the first person and uses a chatty form of language throughout the whole book. Lizzie and Belle are very different characters but become firm friends and the story ends on a cliff-hanger as their two families’ joint portrait is stolen on the night of celebration of their victory. The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger has been shortlisted for the Waterstones 2023 Children’s Book Prize!

However as I got into highschool most historical fiction i found was centered around boys and young men.Bringing Georgian London vividly to life, this is a wonderful historical mystery with two delightful heroines. The support and passion within the Black community (and Lizzie’s own family) is brilliantly depicted, shot through as it is with sadness about their brothers and sisters who are still in slavery. The girls meet up and decide to track down this mysterious figure, becoming involved in the abolitionist movement and the unlawful seizure of Black people from the streets of London to be sent to the Caribbean as slaves. I was hooked from the outset as Williams expertly takes the real life historical figures of two black Georgians Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle and imagines them tackling a mystery of an attempted onstage murder! I think this book has a great balance of humour and seriousness, which is perfect when writing a good book.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment